Glessner House Presents Summer Tours and Events Summer 2023

Glessner House, 1887, Henry Hobson Richardson, 1800 S. Prairie Ave. Photo credit: Eric Allix Rogers
Glessner House, 1887, Henry Hobson Richardson, 1800 S. Prairie Ave. Photo credit: Eric Allix Rogers

“A National Historic Landmark, Glessner House was designed by noted American architect Henry Hobson Richardson and completed in 1887. It remains an internationally-known architectural treasure in Chicago. A radical departure from traditional Victorian architecture, the structure served as an inspiration to architects such as Louis Sullivan, Mies van der Rohe, and the young Frank Lloyd Wright and helped redefine domestic architecture.”

Glessner House hosts dozens of tours, performances, and events throughout the year. Here are highlights from the summer calendar

  • The Princess of the Fair: The Infanta Eulalia of Spain’s Visit to the 1893 World’s Columbian Exposition – Friday, June 9, 2023
  • A Walk Through Time – Sunday, June 11, 2023
  • Courtyard Concert: John Sharp and Friends – Wednesday, June 14, 2023
  • Frederic Clay Bartlett at 150: Celebrating the Artist and Collector – Saturday, June 17, 2023
  • Architecture Tour – Saturday, June 17, 2023
  • William Morris Tour – Saturday, June 24, 2023
  • Courtyard Concert: Suneetha Vaitheswaran Trio – Wednesday, June 28, 2023
  • Architecture Tour – Saturday, July 15, 2023
  • Servants Tour – Saturday, July 22, 2023
  • Courtyard Concert: The Wayne Messmer Ensemble – Wednesday, July 26, 2023
  • Courtyard Concert: The Chen String Quartet – Tuesday, August 1, 2023
  • Architecture Tour – Saturday, August 19, 2023
  • Courtyard Concert: Second City Jazz – Wednesday, August 23, 2023

Link to Glessner House Website for more information and to purchase tickets

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

29 − = 24

Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!